Kacey Musgraves Concert

PM STDP

Kacey Musgraves is one of my favorite country singers. I first discovered her debut album Same Trailer Different Park (2013) back on Amazon a couple years ago. She was different from my Carrie Underwood and Taylor Swift tunes, but in a classic country music that was easily relatable. Her lyrics are blunt and catchy. Pageant Material (2015) was released last month and I’ve been addicted ever since. Thank gosh for Apple Music and their new streaming system.

She sounds even better than the track. I’m not shitting you one bit. I already knew she could actually sing well after watching her perform on a couple of morning shows. The venue was small; think the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, but smaller. The Florida Theater maintains its original interior, I’m assuming. They only had larges left in the Women’s slim fit American Apparel shirts that say: Biscuits on them (her newest single from Pageant Material). The card reader wasn’t working, but Terry had cash and bought me a small in one of the unisex, not-as-cute Biscuits shirts. I bought us some drinks and didn’t get carded!

Kacey sang almost two hours worth of songs. Including some songs that aren’t hers. She did pen Miranda Lambert’s Mama’s Broken Heart and sang that, These Boots Are Made for Walkin’, a song called Scrubs by TLC, which sounded so familiar, but I couldn’t place it.

IMG_2076

We were 8 rows back, but they were still great seats since the theater is so intimate. But, I don’t have an iPhone 6/6 Plus and therefore, my zoom on the 5S sucks. How do I know this? A guy sitting in front of me was taking videos with his 6 and zooming in and the quality still was banging. Mucho jealous.

Song recommendations:

Pageant Material:

  • Die Fun (which she didn’t sing, and I was surprised)
  • Miserable (which she also didn’t sing, and I was rather disappointed)
  • Late to the Party (favorite)
  • Dime Store Cowgirl (love)
  • This Town (really love)
  • Cup of Tea

Same Trailer Different Park:

  • Step Off (catchy song about telling someone to piss off, also a favorite)
  • Blowing’ Smoke (hit)
  • Follow Your Arrow (hit)
  • Merry Go ‘Round
  • I Miss You (also didn’t sing :()
  • Keep It to Yourself (really love)
  • It Is What It Is (another love)

If you guys like country music, you should definitely check her out! Also, Pageant Material is out in a hot pink vinyl, and even though I don’t own a record player; I’m highly considering it to start a collection of my pure favorite artists like Lana del Rey, Kacey, and others.

Leave a Reply

